5 Elements

Pancha Mahabhuta are the five elements of nature of which the human body is made from.

*Earth (bhumi)

*Water (jala)
*Fire (agni)
*Air (Vayu)
*Space (aakash)


It is the Hindus belief that when you die all these 5 elements of human body

are dissolved to the respective element of nature so it can balance the

cycle of nature.  Each of these five elements has its own function and


*Earth (bhumi):-
The first element. This element is perceived by the five senses: Hearing, Smell, Taste, Touch and Sight.

The physical body with muscles and bones refers to Earth.

*Water (jala):-
The second element.  This element has no odor (smell) but can be heard, felt, seen and tasted. In human body, blood and other fluid refers to Water.

*Fire (agni):-
The third element.  The temperature in the human body, jatharagni refers to Fire. It can mainly be felt but can also be seen through the third eye (6th chakra).

*Air (pavan):-
The fourth element.  Air can be felt and heard only.  One cannot see it.  In human body, oxygen refers to Air. It is considered as one of the most important factor in Pranayama.  

*Space / Sky (aakash):-
The fifth and last element. Space is the medium of sound but is inaccessible to all other senses. In the human body the Atma (Soul) refers to Space.

The combination of these 5 elements make our body and will dissolve into respective element upon death.

The understanding of these 5 elements through yoga help you to gain self awareness and to release your inner Goddess.


Shaktiyoga - the payth to release your inner Goddess.