top of page

A dance of passion based on TS Eliot’s “4 Quartets” danced to Beethoven’s “Appassionata”.

The dance takes you on a journey from time past to future and delves into the human soul’s search for truth and eternity. 

From the rose garden to the moment when the fire and rose become one we marvel and speculate where we came from and to where we are going. 

Mystery and magic exists all around us.  The bird leads us through the maze of life till finally we become the fire bird,

the phoenix and dive into the flames and burn into ashes only to be revived again to fly far far away.

“Appassionata” is known to be Beethoven’s bleakest and darkest work. 

The finale was said to be the “devil’s laughter in the face of ultimate damnation.” 

But interpreted and seen through the words of TS Eliot whose “4 Quartets” was based on

Hindu philosophy, the piece leads the way from birth, life and to the final culmination of death

which is the ultimate climax of life.

"At the still point of the turning world.

Neither flesh nor fleshless;
Neither from nor towards; at the still point,

there the dance is..."

TS Eliot


Piano Sonata No. 23 in F mineur



The Birth

Danced to the words of TS Eliot.

Allegro assai

Time Past

The rose garden and the bird


Allegro con moto

Time Present

The turning world


Allegro ma non troppo – Presto

Time Future

The phoenix


Appassionata played live by pianist Riccardo Barone

bottom of page